BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Game for the Classroom rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Villa
msg tools
mbmbmb
Howdy all,

Longtime lurker here and now I could use some help. I am a professor of Humanities teaching mostly American and Constitutional history. This summer I also taught European History and Culture and I used that forum to introduce my students to the classic board game Diplomacy. It was an instant hit. They all responded well to it and several students are begging for more interactive action in the classroom.

As part of the Diplomacy exercise I made my class write a paper on their experience with the game and a couple said it was the best thing they had ever done in a classroom. Others said it was an intense and enjoyable experience. All of the students claimed to have learned lessons in geography and communication as well as strategic thinking. Others said that the chaos of European history suddenly made more sense. In short, the positive response was more than I had dared hope for.

Now I am thinking I would like to bring a similar experience to my American studies students. In a limited time such as a 16 week semester, I cannot cover the full breadth of the American experience and so I tend to focus my students on the pivotal eras of American history, The War for Independence, The Civil War and the World Wars. So I was hoping that this forum might provide me with some game suggestions that I could implement in an American History class setting.