$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game – The Hobbit: On the Doorstep» Forums » Rules

Subject: Burgle question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carl B
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

In the FAQ it says:

"Unless specified by a card effect, or granted player choice, the letter "X" is equal to 0."

Does that mean that cards that costs "X" (like "Stand and Fight") are considered to have a cost of zero, and that when you Burgle, a card with cost "X" is effectively a card with cost zero?

Thanks,

Carl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The value of "X" is specified either by a card effect (like "X is the number of players in the game"), or by player choice while playing the card. When you're discarding a card, you're not playing it, so you cannot choose the value of "X", so its value is 0. And for a card effect to actually take effect, it has to be in play. When you discard a card from your hand, it goes directly from an out-of-play state (your hand) to another out-of-play state (your discard pile), never entering play. So there is never any time when the value of X can be specified. So yes, when you Burgle, a card with cost "X" has a cost of zero and will match the cost of other zero-cost cards.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl B
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fantastic answer, thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.