$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

London Dread» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discarding plot cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Risdon
United States
South Elgin
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A number of the character-based plot cards (like Mr. Horace Eustace) say
Quote:
If this card raises Dread, discard it.


What are we supposed to be doing with completed plot cards normally? Aren't they always discarded? We assumed they don't go to the Investigation deck because of the different card back.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Asger Johansen
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Jeff,

Thank you for your question.

You are right, Plot cards are always discarded after they have been investigated.

But remember that if you FAIL to investigate a Plot card within its Time Segment (Morning, Day, or Night), the card raises Dread but stays on the board.

In the case of the Victims, however, if the cards raises Dread, it is discarded. This is a special rule pertaining to the victims. From a story point of view, it represents the victim being slain if you fail to warn them in time.

Hope this answers your question.

Best

Asger
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Riley
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Nos operamur, te ludere
badge
"Life is more fun if you play games." - Roald Dahl
mbmbmbmbmb
Lublang wrote:


But remember that if you FAIL to investigate a Plot card within its Time Segment (Morning, Day, or Night), the card raises Dread but stays on the board.


I am confused by this. Don't you lose the game if you fail to investigate all the plot cards each chapter? So if you miss the day segment to investigate a plot card, haven't you just lost the game?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wombat929 wrote:
Lublang wrote:


But remember that if you FAIL to investigate a Plot card within its Time Segment (Morning, Day, or Night), the card raises Dread but stays on the board.


I am confused by this. Don't you lose the game if you fail to investigate all the plot cards each chapter? So if you miss the day segment to investigate a plot card, haven't you just lost the game?

As mentioned in the rulebook (but I had to read it more than once) if you are able to investigate a plot card in the morning and you don't do it during this time segment it will raise dread by the value printed on the card. If you don't do it during the day, it will rise dread again. Your last chance will be the night but keep in mind that you have to investigate the plot cards in order, so if you investigate your first plot card in the night segment you probably won't do it in time to investigate also the other plot cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Riley
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Nos operamur, te ludere
badge
"Life is more fun if you play games." - Roald Dahl
mbmbmbmbmb
Roger the Alien wrote:
wombat929 wrote:
Lublang wrote:


But remember that if you FAIL to investigate a Plot card within its Time Segment (Morning, Day, or Night), the card raises Dread but stays on the board.


I am confused by this. Don't you lose the game if you fail to investigate all the plot cards each chapter? So if you miss the day segment to investigate a plot card, haven't you just lost the game?

As mentioned in the rulebook (but I had to read it more than once) if you are able to investigate a plot card in the morning and you don't do it during this time segment it will raise dread by the value printed on the card. If you don't do it during the day, it will rise dread again. Your last chance will be the night but keep in mind that you have to investigate the plot cards in order, so if you investigate your first plot card in the night segment you probably won't do it in time to investigate also the other plot cards.


Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.