United States
Highland
UT
flag msg tools
To play is human; to win, divine.
badge
There is no shame in losing, if you remain unafraid to play again. -Losers
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to this (and any other) board, so I don't know if anything like this has been previously suggested, but here goes-

The new role (perhaps named Pirate) would do the following:

Player MUST destoy one of his or her own buildings or plantations.

This introduces the possibility of trading land for cash, and I suppose it would make the hacienda more valuable. It presumably would not tend to be chosen until a couple of doubloons had accumulated. Consider banning application to "free" buildings like small indigo plant.

Variants:
1 - All players must destroy something. (this would alter the game more dramatically, & I would lift the proposed ban on small indigo etc.)
2 - allow other players to raze something (for a price?)
3 - allow the player choosing the role to also destroy somebody else's building or plantation (possibly for a price - maybe something of equal or lesser value)

I'm interested to hear positive or derisive feedback or suggested improvements.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Lam I Am
United States
Highland
UT
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Idea for new role in PR
samlamiam (#23411),

Ah, I forgot to mention that you have to choose what to do with people on razed properties -

A - to San Juan
B - to heaven
C - to the next person who chooses Pirate

I would probably go with "A", though "B" could make variant 3 quite wicked

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Campbell
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
samlamiam (#23411),

Since the game on its own is very interesting, tinkering with PR is a very interesting idea. The ability to destroy things is a very radical change to what is otherwise an entirely constructive game. The Black Market from the PR expansion offers a chance to experiment with burning items for cash.