GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,666 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Victory in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bombing an area with factories and ground troops ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
juerg haeberli
msg tools
Just had a situation where a bomber found a ground troop in a factory area.
Since the bomber at the end of the first bombing round is in an area with an enemy ground troop does it have to retreat and loose a step ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Draker
United States
McLean
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haeberich wrote:
Just had a situation where a bomber found a ground troop in a factory area.
Since the bomber at the end of the first bombing round is in an area with an enemy ground troop does it have to retreat and loose a step ?


From 1.1 rules, section 6.7 page 7:

IMPORTANT: an air unit without army
support must retreat from an enemy
army at the end of the battle. Air units
that retreat on round 1 take a 1-Step
loss normally.

So no, air units can stay for the two rounds. If it's a bombing raid against a factory, then the land units cannot fire at the bomber because the bomber did not target them.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
juerg haeberli
msg tools

Thanks for the fast answer.

Most of the questions we have we answer the way you do.
Unfortunately thats only common sense and not always in the rule book.

Going to play the 3rd session of my ongoing game tomorrow.
It's summer 43 and I as the Axis just repelled and allied invasion in France. ( Invasions are hard. )
On the east front it doesent look good. I never got into Russia but so far I could hold eastern Poland.

I expect the Russians in Berlin beginning of 45....but we will see.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
juerg haeberli
msg tools
Follow up thoughts and question.

I assume forts dont defend against bombing raids because they are grund units.

How about a naval bomber attacking a ship in port when a ground unit is in the same area ?

I assume the bomber will have 2 bombing rounds and only the naval unit can fire back since the bomber does not attack the grond unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
Germany
Hannover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi Juerg

Please see the note to rule 5.4:

IMPORTANT: Army and naval units
may only target air units that attack
them this combat round. Exception:
CVs can always target enemy air.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.