Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kel kel
msg tools
hello all,

im new here, first post...

currently , i have design and crafted a print and play board game,
based of the novel dune 1984 game.

in my game, i took some key elements from risk, dune, rune wars and even catan.

i would like to hear some thoughts about my rule set and my mechanism:

game description:

the game is about combat and resource gathering - spice and water.
42 territories in a hex system.
win the game by - completing a mission or score (need advice).

i have a few ideas about combat , resources and winning conditions.

hers the combat system:

based of dune 1982 game - when theres a battle, each player will secretly choose the number of soldiers that will determine its combat power, these soldiers, will die after the combat no matter the result.
you can have up to 20 army units per tile.

secondly in the battle - there are two options of combat resolve im thinking of:
each player pulls 3 cards, consists of a rock paper scissors system,
each card will face the card of the second player, hidden.
now - the player with the higher combat can acquire a forth card, to be used as a backup card to one of hes 3 combat cards picked before.
this will give some advantage to a player.
each card thats beats the opposite players card - gives a +2 combat power to the total soldiers sacrificed to combat power before.

2. each player have 7 cards, that has 3 values to them:
power - added to the total soldiers sacrificed.
attack - compared to the opposite card from the enemy,
if its higher - the winner, will "revive" a number of
soldiers, numbered in the "defense" value (the 3rd one on
the card)

now what do you think? which is better?

another idea i had, on the map, a player have army units,
each army unit, is 1 army.
each player have in hes position, combat points tokens,
whenever a battle of 2 or more army units occur, each player can sacrifice up to 20 points.