The rules say that
Sometimes, a ship can get damaged during a game. When a ship gets damaged turn it horizontally on the board.
Damaged ships have 2 movement, meaning they can only move two spaces in any direction instead of unlimited number of spaces.
They also cannot enter Unexplored Systems.
Damaged ships CAN enter their Homeworld Systems for repairs. When a damaged ship enters its Homeworld System, repair it (turn it in its original vertical position). From now on, that ship may move regularly.
Now a ship may not move into a system already owned by the player and a damaged ship may not enter unexplored systems, so doesn't this mean that a damaged ship is "dead in the water" if it is more tha 2 spaces (in a straight line) from its Homeworld System?