The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster Tokens? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Lienau
Canada
flag msg tools
We weren't able to find in the rule book what the 2 Monster Tokens are actually used for.

1. Are these tokens to be used for only the monsters that are depicted on them? (Ogre and.....I don't remember what the other one is called.)

2. Are they used to show that a monster is traveling with a tribe once they've revealed themselves and are navigating the cave? Just as a reminder?

3. There are only two monster tokens but the goblin player may have up to 4 monsters under their command. Why only two tokens?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Chaffer
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Grand Rapids Area Boardgamers
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You will use these tokens if you are playing a role variant that uses the Goblin Infestation rules, and you are playing on the hardest difficulty. In this case, when you encounter an Ambush, you will draw a Monster card and read its Ambush text, which sometimes refers to the tokens.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Watkins
United States
flag msg tools
Pretty sure that the tokens are used for the variants without the goblins
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Lienau
Canada
flag msg tools
OK, that clears things up.
I think the standard game setup has a typo that tells the goblin player to place his monster tokens near his board then doesn't say anything else beyond that.

Thanks for the quick reply!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew McChesney
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks came here to ask the same question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Pony
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
braingoo wrote:
Thanks came here to ask the same question.


Agreed, thanks from me as well. I'm building a pnp and have been trying to figure out what these are used for. At least I got to read the Goblin rules a couple more times while I searched for the answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznan
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've found the initial answer pretty confusing. That's because it wasn't really technically correct. Here's the proper answer fixed:

JonBob wrote:
You will use these tokens if you are playing a role variant that uses the Goblin Infestation rules with C line, i.e. when you are playing Knight vs Thief or SOLO Knight on the hardest difficulty.


The rulebook has some problems when describing variants. In Knight vs Dragon vs Cave it mentions monster tokens with green background for no apparent reason, same for Knight vs Cave. In Knight vs Dragon it mentions them again (no background this time), for no reason also.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rattkin wrote:
I've found the initial answer pretty confusing. That's because it wasn't really technically correct. Here's the proper answer fixed:

JonBob wrote:
You will use these tokens if you are playing a role variant that uses the Goblin Infestation rules with C line, i.e. when you are playing Knight vs Thief or SOLO Knight on the hardest difficulty.


The rulebook has some problems when describing variants. In Knight vs Dragon vs Cave it mentions monster tokens with green background for no apparent reason, same for Knight vs Cave. In Knight vs Dragon it mentions them again (no background this time), for no reason also.
The Knight's Fearless sidequest gives the option to draw a Monster during an Ambush even if you're using a lower difficulty level, and it's possible that you'll draw the Ogre or Troll, then fail to defeat it and have to place the token on the map. That's the reason they're included in the variant setups.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznan
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yikes! Indeed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.