5 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: My first foray into miniature painting. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Benton
msg tools
mb
I started painting my Zombicide miniatures in May. It's been a slow process and a busy summer, so I haven't done as much as I've wanted.

Looking for all kinds of feedback and I have some specific questions further down. I haven't ever painted anything before these guys and Youtube was a big help.(Also I didn't see a "miniature painting" forum section so I'm sticking this in general.)

I've used the pre-packaged Army Painter zombicide paint kit for nearly everything pictured. I started by priming all the zombies and zombivors (with the exception of the Toxic Zombies)with Army Painter's Necrotic Flesh spray primer.

I ended up using the entire can of spray primer to do all three "trays" of zombies. I don't think I will be priming like this again. I think I wasted a lot of primer by basically dusting the whole area instead of having one line of zombies to prime and then doing another. I also was not holding the can anywhere near close enough for the first few rows. I think I also came in from the top too much? Several pieces are missing primer in their armpits, under their chins, etc.

One oddity I noticed is that a lot of them had a "spotted" texture on them after they dried? I don't know if I did something wrong with the primer or if it was dust settling onto them, (and they were clean and smooth prior to priming)

I then started to paint a Fatty since he was one of the larger minis. I used the brush that came with the Army Painter set and had picked up a few small cheap ones from Michael's.

Next was using the Zombie Shader. He was still a little wet when this pic was taken.