$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Quartermaster General» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blitzkrieg Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carl Frodge
United States
Plantation
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Blitzkrieg is a German Status card that reads: "Use once per turn when you battle a land space. Discard the top card of your draw deck and build an Army in the space battled."

When it says "...when you battle a land space." can that space be occupied by an Allied Army, or does it mean battle an empty land space?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Anastasia
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It can be occupied. Though, for Blitzkrieg to work, it has to be empty after the battle, so it basically can't be occupied by two different Allied armies.

EDIT: Capitalized 'allied' to be extra clear that I mean Allied as in a member of the team consisting of UK, USSR, and USA. Not allied as in part of your own team.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Bakija
United States
flag msg tools
Q: Are we not men?
mbmbmbmbmb
agentkuo wrote:
When it says "...when you battle a land space." can that space be occupied by an Allied Army, or does it mean battle an empty land space?


Generally when you battle a land space, it has an enemy army in it, so yeah, if you have an army in Germany, and the UK has an army in Western Europe, when you Land Battle Western Europe, you kill the UK army and then burn the top card of your deck and build an army in Western Europe.

You *can* Land Battle an empty land space if you want, and you can use Blitzkrieg then as well. But most of the time folks use Blitzkrieg, they are killing an enemy army and using Blitzkrieg to then build their own.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witch Lord
msg tools
mbmbmb
bakija wrote:
You *can* Land Battle an empty land space if you want, and you can use Blitzkrieg then as well. But most of the time folks use Blitzkrieg, they are killing an enemy army and using Blitzkrieg to then build their own.


Well, yes and no. At least in our group, it does happen relatively often that the Germans use Blitzkrieg to convert a Land Battle card they have in hand into a Build Army that they currently don't have, but would need. It only costs 1 card from deck as opposed to the 4 they would have to pay from hand for a Reallocate Resources.

The big downside being of course that this burns one of their precious Land Battle cards. And that discards from the deck are always somewhat risky.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
denis sauzedde
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
agentkuo wrote:
can that space be occupied by an Allied Army

It is not allowed to battle a space occupied by an allied army as rule book says p17 at the very bottom in "Using Battle cards against empty spaces"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benji
Switzerland
Gurmels
FR
flag msg tools
visit us on www.muwins.ch
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
senik wrote:
agentkuo wrote:
can that space be occupied by an Allied Army

It is not allowed to battle a space occupied by an allied army as rule book says p17 at the very bottom in "Using Battle cards against empty spaces"


By "Allied Army", i suspect that he means the historical allies, hence a UK, US or USSR army.

Italian or japanese armies would be "friendly".
So yes, he may of course battle an "enemy" army or an empty land space, but not one with a friendly army.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
denis sauzedde
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
you might be so right Benji thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Frodge
United States
Plantation
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Benji68 wrote:
senik wrote:
agentkuo wrote:
can that space be occupied by an Allied Army

It is not allowed to battle a space occupied by an allied army as rule book says p17 at the very bottom in "Using Battle cards against empty spaces"


By "Allied Army", i suspect that he means the historical allies, hence a UK, US or USSR army.

Italian or japanese armies would be "friendly".
So yes, he may of course battle an "enemy" army or an empty land space, but not one with a friendly army.

Allied, meaning, an Ally, the US, UK, or USSR, yes. Not allied meaning a teammate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Anastasia
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, what you all said. I've edited my post to say Allied instead of allied, perhaps that is ever so slightly more clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.