Michael Frost

Iowa
msg tools
mbmbmb
I've only played this once, last night, and original Caracassonne only once, years ago, so I have no experience with either game. During our game of C:SS last night a situation came up like this:

The black player was on a bridge to collect shells. On his own tile. The red player placed an island tile that had a bridge. He connected the bridge to the black player's bridge end. This completed the bridge for the black player.

So... Does the black player first take the shells for the completed bridge? And then takes back his meemple. We did this.

But does this mean that the red player can now place a red meeple on the same bridge, on his just-laid-tile, to collect the same shells that were just collected by the black player? And he would then take back his red meeple. We didn't allow this.

I realize this can't happen with fish that are covered by the boat after fishing, but I can't seem to find anything in the rules to prevent this. Yet some members who'd played regular Carcassonne said red couldn't collect any shell but instead had to either fish or collect bananas on the island.

Is there any specific section of the rule book I'm missing that addresses this?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bartosz Popow
Poland
Gdynia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First you place a meeple. Then only do you resolve an area to possibly collect resources. With that said, the red player cannot place his meeple on the bridge, because it's already occupied. He may place on an island or on a sea. Once he does that, the black player removes his meeple from the bridge and collects shells.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 Lucky Texan
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
you can not use your meeple to claim a feature already claimed by an existing meeple.