Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Elder Sign» Forums » General

Subject: Difference between an Adventure card and an Other World card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mats Lintonsson
Sweden
Borås
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
New to this game. I have a base/core game question (i.e. consider no expansions for this question):

What is the difference between an Adventure card and an Other World card with the respect to game mechanics (not theme)?

Once on the table, an Other World card seems like the exact same thing as an Adventure card, or am I missing something? Is it perhaps a bit more generous in rewards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julia
msg tools
designer
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
badge
#MeToo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They messed up a little bit with the wording in the rulebook, but the general consensum on how to read this is the following:

Adventure Cards is the generic term to designate both Museum Adventure Cards and Other World cards

So, if an effect targets an adventure card, it affects both museum and other world adventures; if an effect targets and Other World card or a Museum card, it affects only said type of cards

This distinguo was made consistent in the later expansions of the series (Gates of Arkham and Omens of Ice)

Hope this helps
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mats Lintonsson
Sweden
Borås
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Scarlet Witch wrote:
They messed up a little bit with the wording in the rulebook, but the general consensum on how to read this is the following:

Adventure Cards is the generic term to designate both Museum Adventure Cards and Other World cards

So, if an effect targets an adventure card, it affects both museum and other world adventures; if an effect targets and Other World card or a Museum card, it affects only said type of cards

This distinguo was made consistent in the later expansions of the series (Gates of Arkham and Omens of Ice)

Hope this helps


This helps a lot! Thank you for a quick and clear response!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Scarlet Witch wrote:
They messed up a little bit with the wording in the rulebook, but the general consensum on how to read this is the following:
...


Addenda: OW cards are not replaced when completed successfully, whereas non-OW Adventures are (unless noted otherwise elsewhere).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mats Lintonsson
Sweden
Borås
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
sgbeal wrote:
Scarlet Witch wrote:
They messed up a little bit with the wording in the rulebook, but the general consensum on how to read this is the following:
...


Addenda: OW cards are not replaced when completed successfully, whereas non-OW Adventures are (unless noted otherwise elsewhere).


True. That is a difference too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mats77 wrote:
Scarlet Witch wrote:
They messed up a little bit with the wording in the rulebook, but the general consensum on how to read this is the following:

Adventure Cards is the generic term to designate both Museum Adventure Cards and Other World cards

So, if an effect targets an adventure card, it affects both museum and other world adventures; if an effect targets and Other World card or a Museum card, it affects only said type of cards

This distinguo was made consistent in the later expansions of the series (Gates of Arkham and Omens of Ice)

Hope this helps


This helps a lot! Thank you for a quick and clear response!



yeah, she's awesome like that!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.