$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: RtL monster movement rule question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
L W
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My wife and I have been trying creative tactics in Kindred Fire. One of them is strategic retreat. This opens up some questions about large monster movement around obstacles and terrain.

If a monster's orders are to "engage closest hero" and the hero is too far away to engage in one action does the monster move two actions consecutively to get through terrain/obstacles or is the monster required to do only one movement action (and possibly losing movement points due to terrain/obstacles) and then cycle through the action list til we get back to "engage" action?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It performs 1 action at a time, getting as close as it can with 1 move action.

If that is unsatisfying to you, look ahead to see if it will do anything else before cycling back to "engage". If not, use 2 move actions at once and threaten the heroes more. No opponent means no one is upset if you break the rules to make the game more fun.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hladky
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
Currently working on Perdition's Mouth Board game content
badge
Imperial Assault - Imperial Player
mbmbmbmbmb
Under normal circumstances each engage should be done separately (it is faster than joined together) however in the case you describe, where the monster would get stuck I would rule it to do the double move.

The strategic retreat is a viable tactics, with fast heroes you can outrun the big monsters, but if you let them stuck somewhere it is just a way how to spoil your game. It reminds me the situation of the computer RPGs where you fight a boss and let him stuck behind some misplaced texture. You can win, but will that be an epic victory?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.