$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Things you can do from Home Base? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kara S
United States
Palmer
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Last night we had a situation where a player (Saxony) lost a battle and had both their deployed mechs and 2 workers sent to their Home Base (so, ALL their deployed units, minus character). Their character was elsewhere. The player had no resources. Their last action was "Move" and they didn't have a factory card.

Question is: if that player couldn't move off the base, can any of the other top/bottom row actions be taken?

I know that:
Mechs can only be deployed on a territory and thus a mech couldn't be deployed.
You can't build on the home base.

So:
I am assuming a player could do the "benign" Top Row action of Bolster. But could that player do a TR Trade for two resources and then enact a bottom row action, if that bottom row were Upgrade or Enlist, since those two BR actions don't involve the map? Or do they have to burn a turn and do nothing before they can select the Move action to get off the Home Base before carrying on with their plans?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zen
Japan
Kyoto
flag msg tools
youtube.com/neatozen
badge
follow me on twitter: @zenxacred
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't have to do the top action to be able to do the bottom action. Just pay for what you want to do.

Also you can't trade since you have to place resources on a territory where your workers are. (Home base is not a territory). You can do anything that doesn't require the workers or anything on the map sure.

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Top row actions that could be possible if conditions are right:

- Bolster for either power or cards
- trade but only for popularity (not for resources as nowhere to place them)
- production but with no workers on the board would only produce on the mill if it was already built
- Move but only if they are the Rusviets

So you couldn't do the trade top action for resources since there is nowhere to place them with a worker, and home base is not a territory that can be "controlled" so you can't spend resources from there. Therefore you couldn't do the bottom action linked to trade either.

You stated that the player didn't have resources, but just for clarity, if they did happen to control the necessary resources on the board (with their character and/or a building) to cover the cost, they could theoretically do an upgrade or bolster action from the bottom row, or any other bottom row action but just for the coins.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kara S
United States
Palmer
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
zenxacred wrote:
You don't have to do the top action to be able to do the bottom action. Just pay for what you want to do.


Right, we understand that - the player in question had no resources at all, so couldn't do any bottom row action. We were therefore wondering if any of the top row actions could have been taken.

Quote:
Also you can't trade since you have to place resources on a territory where your workers are. (Home base is not a territory). You can do anything that doesn't require the workers or anything on the map sure.


Ahhh, gotcha. That makes sense. I keep forgetting that the top row action doesn't mean the bottom row action happens INSTANTLY - that there's a sort of 'pause' in-between, hence combat happening only after ALL units have moved, and not the moment a single unit occupies the same territory as an enemy combat unit.

Thank you both for your clarification. It's a minor thing but it helps a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.