$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question: Movement between system activation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Yein
United States
Fairfax
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I need some clarification on system activation timing.

Even though I can't find it in the rulebook, according to designer's post, only one system can be activated each turn on turn-by-turn mode, and a movement must happen between system activations in real-time mode.

If this is on the rulebook somewhere please point it out to me, meanwhile I am using this as an amended rule.


What I need to get clarification on is:

Are placing/launching mines, and detonating/exploding mines considered separate activations and therefore movement must happen in between?

EDIT:

The Designer answers is at this Thread
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1630118/designer-answer...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I reread the rules because of the previous discussion and it is not listed this way. In fact it says once charged it can be used "any time" so there is either a big omission in the rules or we have a rogue sub making unofficial rule changes!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Tang
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
scandale wrote:
Hi Christian.
Were you playing turn by tirn or simultenously ?
If you play turn by turn, each turn, each team MUST move, and CAN activate 1 system.
In real time mode, there is no initiative, BUT a captain, MUST move at least once between two system activations.

Thanx for playing our game.
:0)

Lt Lemonnier

For the record, this is the relevant post on a different thread by designer Yohan Lemonnier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Yein
United States
Fairfax
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I get an official response on whether mine placement and activation is considered separate system activations?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kairaven wrote:
Can I get an official response on whether mine placement and activation is considered separate system activations?


The designers are at a convention at the moment, which explains why they couldn't answer.

As far as I am concerned, blowing up a mine is not a system activation. The rule says that this can be done at any time.

However, I have asked the designers and I will have a more official answer soon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert F-C
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For reference, original post by designer is here: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/23411209#23411209
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.