$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Passing a Hazardous System via Impulse? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Federali Aundy
msg tools
On page 12, the rule book gives an example of passing a hazardous system by warp speed, but could this be done by way of impulse speed?

For example, say a ship is in a sector that is adjacent to a hazardous system. Could he exhaust one command to impulse (base speed 2) through the hazardous system and into a the first sector of another space lane? Or would he have to stop and brave the hazard?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
Bakersfield
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The principal is that you only brave a hazard if you stop there, so I would say you're safe.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Calaway
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It says twice on page 12 that ships only have to brave a hazard when they end a movement there. So I agree you are safe.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Maiz
United States
Palmyra
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do NOT brave the hazard.

Pg 12, left side lower area:
" If you dont stop in a hazard system, you move around and avoid the hazard and dont have to make the hazard roll"

Side note: If you are at warp, you are considered 'off of the map', starting at the location you left from to a distance no further than the # of warp tokens for that ship/fleet. So if you had 3 warp tokens and go - if the 2nd system has a hazard, you pass over that system and go to the third system. If you end movement at the third system, you 'enter' the system.

side note 2: Remember, Warp movement is not considered 'on' the map/sectors but uses the system to connect points to warp between system A and B. Impulse movement uses the map/sectors and space lanes to move and thus is ON the map.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
note though that if you just discovered that system then you must stop and brave the hazard/exploration card.

moving through unharmed is only possible in systems that have already been discovered.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.