Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using tactics cards to block as part of counter attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cameron Rabbett
Australia
flag msg tools
Hello

An interesting twist came up for me and a friend the other day when we played. I initiated combat and attacked his fleet. On my first roll of the dice I managed to roll and assign enough damage to destroy all of his ships. He did not have any block cards at this stage so I thought I was going to win the combat for sure.

He then performed his counter attack and rolled a fair few special (crossed lightsabers) results. He started picking up a bunch of block cards and then assigned these block cards to the ships which I thought I had destroyed.

Now we couldn't figure out from the rules if this was allowed. The combat round hadn't ended so that was confusing. The ships weren't destroyed yet so that was confusing. The only thing I could find in the rules was some reference that stated block cards can't remove damage tokens.

So the question would then be when do the damage tokens get assigned? As part of my attack or as part of the end of the combat round? One way would prevent him using block cards unless he had them when I did my attack. The other would mean that combat could drag out significantly if special results are continually rolled.

Thoughts? References?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
That is not allowed. You cannot play blocking cards during your own attack.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cheng
Taiwan
Taipei City
n/a
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Read the Reference rule. Under Combat -> Resolving attack.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is why it is useful to have a leader that allows you to draw some cards before the battle begins.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yan Bertrand
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
eunoia wrote:
Read the Reference rule. Under Combat -> Resolving attack.

Necroposting just to say "thanks", since this has had me read the whole reference rulebook, which is actually mandatory, seeing how elementary stuff is left unclear in the starter's guide.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Herman92 wrote:
eunoia wrote:
Read the Reference rule. Under Combat -> Resolving attack.

Necroposting just to say "thanks", since this has had me read the whole reference rulebook, which is actually mandatory, seeing how elementary stuff is left unclear in the starter's guide.


This particular subject is clear in the Learn To Play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Medley
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This didn't sit well with me at first because it seems to give quite an advantage to attackers. But after doing the math it's only a 5-10% bonus in the first round. 5 cards block out of 14 (15th is used to draw more), and the sabers only come up 1/6 times. 5/14/6 = 6%.

There are two factors I can think of that are difficult to quantify. Not all sabers will be used to draw; some will be used to play cards, especially when a leader gave you some to start. This factor reduces the edge somewhat.

Second, a block can be much more valuable than a hit. Facing a 4 HP ship and a 2 HP ship, with 6 damage to assign, and you correctly presume your opponent has one and only block, it's worth 2 hits. If you wrongly guess that he doesn't, the block is worth quite a bit more. But sometimes they are worth less than a hit, especially when your opponent plays Unstoppable Assault.

Finally, if the battle goes to a second round, the defender recoups some of that edge.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.