Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Guns of August» Forums » Rules

Subject: Linking Combat Support Units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stu Carson
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
A defending hex contains 2 combat units and 2 combat support units. If the defender want to link the CSU and prevent them being attacked individually, must he link 1 CSU to 1 CU? or may he link more than 1 CSU to a single defender.

We are using the Augmented V2.0 rules available here on this site.

Rule 13.21 says "13.21 When the phasing player initiates an attack, before he allocates the specific units participating in the attack, the non-phasing player may allocate any combat support unit(s) in the defending hex to any combat unit(s) in the same hex. If the non-phasing player allocates a combat support unit to a combat unit, treat the two units as one indivisible unit for combat result purposes. The phasing player may attack a combat support unit separately if the non-phasing player does not allocate it to a combat unit.
EXAMPLE: The phasing player announces he wishes to attack a hex occupied by four enemy units: a 5-7-4 infantry unit, a 4-6-4 infantry unit, a 3-3-3 artillery unit, and a 0-1-2 engineer unit. The non-phasing player then announces he is allocating the artillery unit to the 5-7-4 infantry unit, and the engineer unit to the 4-6-4 infantry unit. The phasing player must either attack all the units in the hex combined (Defense Strength 17) or make two attacks: one against the artillery and the 5-7-4 infantry, which have a total Defense Strength of 10; the other against the 4-6-4 infantry and the engineer, which have a total Defense Strength of seven.
"

The "the non-phasing player may allocate any combat support unit(s) in the defending hex to any combat unit(s) in the same hex" part implies a YES answer to my question, but my opponent argues the example implies only 1:1 is available. Is there a clarification or further example anywhere?

Thanks, Stu
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Cundiff
United States
St. Bernice
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Though the example provides expression on a 1:1 basis, the rule specifically says may allocate any combat support unit(s) in the defending hex to any combat unit(s) . That means that two (or more) combat support units may be assigned to a single combat unit while other combat units in the same hex are left without support.

The rule is clear on this. You are correct. Your opponent is wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stu Carson
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Thanks for the speedy, and definitive, reply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.