$30.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

World in Flames» Forums » Rules

Subject: Opponet's naval combat phase question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
D Clevenger
United States
Sunnyvale
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Impulse 1, the Germans move a big fleet into the North Atlantic.

Impulse 2, the CW moves a big fleet into the North Atlantic and initiates combat but neither side rolls a search die low enough.

Impulse 3, the Germans do not move any new ships into the North Atlantic.

Can the CW attempt to initiate combat if the Germans do not initiate combat in impulse 3?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Alexandria (temporarily)
Virginia
flag msg tools
All the little chicks with crimson lips, go...
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the non-phasing player can only attempt to initiate naval combat in a sea area if something new (not a sub) has moved into that sea area (or something already there dropped to a lower sea box).

First sentence of 11.6 (my emphasis):

After your side has resolved combat in all their selected sea areas, any major power on the other side can try to initiate combat (see 11.5.2) in any other sea areas your side moved a non-SUB unit into or within (but not through) in your naval air missions step or your naval movement step.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Clevenger
United States
Sunnyvale
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. I was reading this correctly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.