Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Twin Peaks» Forums » Rules

Subject: Activation Issues rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
msg tools
Atlantic Wall: D-Day to Falaise (Decision Games)
badge
Your attitude, not your aptitude, determines your altitude.
Avatar
mb
Knowing all units are technically "in command" on the first turn, Early doesn't have an activation chit or AM. How is he supposed to activate when he eventually moves out of command?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Byrne
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Early is part of Ewell's division and activates when Ewell's AM is drawn. Ewell does not have to be on the map for his AMs to be drawn. Since all units are in command on the first turn of any Cedar Mountain scenario. Early will activate either three times (if not using Efficiency) or a number of times equal to Jackson's efficiency marker.

If Early is out of command on any subsequent turn, he still activates when Ewell's AM is drawn, except that he must skip one of those activations. Which one Early skips is up to the player. Note that Ewell's activation rating is +1, meaning that, when using Efficiency, the Confederate player could place in the AM container a number of Ewell AMs equal to Jackson's Efficiency, plus 1 for Ewell's rating, and minus 1 in case Ewell is out of Jackson's command radius at the start of the turn. If Ewell is within Jackson's command radius, Jackson has the option of awarding Ewell his "1" Efficiency rating.

2014 series rule 5.25 states that a division leader not within range of his Corps commander can activate no more than 3 times (if not under March Orders). That rule was written for the games featuring 1-hour turns and the possibility of 4 activations per turn. In Twin Peaks turns are only 45 minutes, and the maximum number of activations is three. Therefore, if one were to adapt 5.25, Ewell could only activate a maximum of twice if he were out of command.

Cedar Mountain's designer will likely read this; hopefully he'll shed any light on it which needs shedding.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
msg tools
Atlantic Wall: D-Day to Falaise (Decision Games)
badge
Your attitude, not your aptitude, determines your altitude.
Avatar
mb
I want to thank you for such a detailed response and taking the time. If I understand you correctly, if everyone is in command on the Confederate side, no matter the Efficiency draw, the DRM's are high enough to always ensure a three chit deposit making the Efficiency draw kinda moot? What is Early's Efficiency DRM for?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Laubach
United States
Rockport
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joey or Gunny wrote:
If I understand you correctly, if everyone is in command on the Confederate side, no matter the Efficiency draw, the DRM's are high enough to always ensure a three chit deposit making the Efficiency draw kinda moot? What is Early's Efficiency DRM for?


The first turn is special because all units are considered to be in command. Because of this, there is no activation penalty for Early being outside of Ewell's command range for the first turn.

If you are playing with the optional efficiency draw, then the Confederate efficiency draw pool is 1x1, 1x2, and 1x3. There is a 1 in 3 chance of drawing the 3 on the first turn. If a 1 or a 2 are drawn, then Early will not have three activations in the first turn. He will have exactly the same number of activations as the efficiency draw.

If Early has not moved within Ewell's command range by the start of the second turn, then for the second turn and for each subsequent turn that Early remains out of command, he is penalized one activation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
msg tools
Atlantic Wall: D-Day to Falaise (Decision Games)
badge
Your attitude, not your aptitude, determines your altitude.
Avatar
mb
Thank you James for such a quick response to my question. What are the lower level commanders efficiency rating DRM's for? Is every leaders efficiency rating DRM simply added up as long as they are in command? Does that include being in command with Jackson?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Laubach
United States
Rockport
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joey or Gunny wrote:
What are the lower level commanders efficiency rating DRM's for? Is every leaders efficiency rating DRM simply added up as long as they are in command? Does that include being in command with Jackson?


If there is a complete chain of command from the brigadier to the overall commander (if any, Cedar Mountain doesn't have one for most of the game) and their various Initiative Ratings (for the overall commander), Efficiency Ratings (for corps commanders, like Jackson and Banks in Cedar Mountain), and the Activation Ratings of the division commanders are not zero, then for some divisions they can be simply added up. For poor commanders these ratings can be negative, so subtract them.

It is not simply additive. There are choices to be made that could leave divisions without a modifier. The overall commander can enhance the efficiency of maybe one, and rarely two corps commanders by 1 (5.22). Some corps won't get the benefit. A corps command with a non-zero efficiency rating can enhance or detract from the activations of one (or maybe two) of his divisions (5.23). If a corps has three divisions then normally only one can be helped. Finally the non-zero Activation Ratings of each division commander can add to or subtract from the total number of activations of the division.

The chain of command is checked at the beginning of each turn. If there is a break in the chain, then the benefits of the ratings from superiors outside the chain will not be available and there can also be penalties. There is an activation penalty at the division level if the division commander can't trace a chain of command to the corps commander (5.23). If a brigade commander can't trace a chain of command to the division commander, then there is also a penalty for that brigade (5.26).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
msg tools
Atlantic Wall: D-Day to Falaise (Decision Games)
badge
Your attitude, not your aptitude, determines your altitude.
Avatar
mb
Thank You James for your time assisting me to comprehend how the Efficiency process works.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.