Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wound and damage timing? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Enon Sci
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just finished our first session (took something like four hours, but was a rousing success, in more than one way).

One question that arose, however, regards the timing of wound/elimination.

A character had this Mythos event arise:

"... suffers 3 damage (negate test). Then she flips all of her damage face-up." (verbatim quote).

As luck would have it, she netted all three, and was already 4 out of 5 on health before the test (so she totaled 7 out of 5 before flipping them up and resolving them).

Parsing the rules, we saw this element:



We interpreted the bullet point above to imply all elements of this mythos event, and subsequently all the now face-up card text, should be resolved before calculating the wound.

As luck would have it, several of the cards discarded themselves via the face-up reveal, and left me at only 4 cards (my health was five), thus avoiding the wound.

Was this played correctly?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rindfleisch
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You would be correct. The full mythos effect would be resolved prior to becoming wounded. So you did indeed get lucky in having the cards discard themselves.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.