$30.00
$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

1844/1854» Forums » Rules

Subject: [1854] definition of station, city, town? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Philihp Busby
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Looking for some clarity on stations, towns, and cities. As someone who has tried to learn by only reading the rules, I feel that simply "station" is at times a ambiguous.

A: On page 10, in 2. build track, the first bullet says only a station can be laid. Then the next bullet says small station, and the next bullet says large station. Did the first bullet mean to say "small station"?

B: On page 12, in 4. run trains, it says cities are circles and towns are crossbars. Did this mean to say "The route must include a series of two or more large stations (circles) and/or towns (crossbars) that are connected by track"?

C: And in the second bullet, did it mean to say it must contain a *large* station marker?

D: on the third and forth, should both of these begin "a city" or "a station" or perhaps "a large station"?

E: Are those towns/small stations that go off the edge of the local map?

I kind of wish the rules used a different words, like "rail stop" for town/small, and "rail terminal" for city/large, and "station" to refer to either. Perhaps these are localization/translation problems?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A K Vikhagen
Sweden
Gothenborg
flag msg tools
philihp wrote:

A: On page 10, in 2. build track, the first bullet says only a station can be laid. Then the next bullet says small station, and the next bullet says large station. Did the first bullet mean to say "small station"?


Yes, that would be the same as what is called a small station in the next bullet.

philihp wrote:
B: On page 12, in 4. run trains, it says cities are circles and towns are crossbars. Did this mean to say "The route must include a series of two or more large stations (circles) and/or towns (crossbars) that are connected by track"?


Yes.

philihp wrote:
C: And in the second bullet, did it mean to say it must contain a *large* station marker?


Station markers come in one size only. They belong to the company and are also sometimes called company tokens or just tokens. "Your station" refers to a station that has one of your station markers on it. EDIT: I see what you mean now: the markers are put on large stations only, yes. But the term "large station markers" doesn't make things clearer IMO.

philihp wrote:
D: on the third and forth, should both of these begin "a city" or "a station" or perhaps "a large station"?


Not sure what you mean here - I find the third and fourth bullets quite clear.

philihp wrote:
E: Are those towns/small stations that go off the edge of the local map?


Do you mean the red hexes? Not sure what you mean
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Childs
msg tools
philihp wrote:
A: On page 10, in 2. build track, the first bullet says only a station can be laid. Then the next bullet says small station, and the next bullet says large station. Did the first bullet mean to say "small station"?


There's a typo? Instead of "On a town (black point) only a station with a black crossbar can be laid." try "On a town (black point) only a tile with a black crossbar can be laid." or "On a town (black point) only a tile with a single small station (black crossbar) can be laid.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules use "station" in two different ways. One meaning is a "revenue location"; e.g., a city or town (or red off-board.) The other meaning is a place where a company has placed a token. You have to determine which is meant by context (yes, this is not ideal.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philihp Busby
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmb


Yeah, the triangles indicated by the red arrows in this picture.

Are these similar to red hexes on the main map? I am to understand that a train that comes in through that edge connects to a town/small station that exists off the edge of the map, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
They connect to a revenue centre that has the value stated on the matching revenue track, no more no less. In this way they're no different from the #5 home station but for necessarily being a terminus.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.