10 Posts

Star Trek: Frontiers» Forums » General

Subject: What to choose ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
danutzek danutzek
Romania
flag msg tools
Hello ! I haven't played this game or Mage Knight and I would like to buy only one of these 2. I know that Star Trek is a little more friendlier regarding gameplay than MK,so I tend towards this one,but on the other hand I find the look of Star Trek really not on my taste. There are a lot of dark colors everywhere you look in opposition to the bright colors of MK. I like both fantasy and sci fi themes,so the question is what to choose : MK who looks better or Star Trek,who is a little bit easier? As I said I tend towards Star Trek because I am a total newbie,but those colors are killing me.

Thank you !

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First, you can be confident that either choice is a good one. They are both great games.

It seems to me that the only functional difference at this point is that Mage Knight has lots of good expansions already available, because it is an older game.

Personally, I love the components of Star Trek: Frontiers. The only tiny complaint I have is that location symbols on crew cards are sometimes a bit hard to see with my middle-aged eyes. Other than that, the look of the game contributes to the space opera feel of it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Not to be Snarky, but it sounds like you're almost answering your own question, as you've already highlighted the differences. Now you only need to decide.

You already know that Frontiers is "friendlier" (i.e., it's been reported as being slightly lighter or more streamlined than MK). So what do you prefer in a game? ... Something with a bit more weight, or a lighter game?