Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Tokaido» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hiroshige Question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Prof John
United States
Rockville
MD
flag msg tools
mb
In the rules this is what is stated re: Hiroshige:

"When Hiroshige arrives at each of the 3 intermediate Inns, before the Meal he takes 1 Panorama card of his choice, scoring the points for this card
immediately."

Does this mean that, in theory, Hiroshige could take a Panorama card that is out of order?

Example: the player who is playing Hiroshige owns Cards 1+2 of the 5-Card Blue Panorama. Could they pick Card 5 instead of Card 3 when arriving at an intermediate Inn, or would they have to pick Card 3?

(Our house rule says that he would have to pick the next sequential card but I'd like to know if anyone else has challenged this...)

Thanks!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've always assumed (and played as such) that he has to take the next card in order.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Suitland
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He can choose between the green, silver, and blue panoramas, but must take the lowest number possible.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis de Vries
Netherlands
Deventer
flag msg tools
Ah, doctor, that aneasthetic is perfect!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you have to finish the panorama in sequence (1-2-3-4-5), because they also made a character who collects panorama cards the other way around (5-4-3-2-1). Isn't it in the rules somewhere?

Edit:
Yes, page 4. You take the value 1, or the next number in ascending order and score the same amount of points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prof John
United States
Rockville
MD
flag msg tools
mb
Page 4 refers to Annaibito (Guide), who is not a character/traveler but an Encounter Card.

The traveler description for Hiroshige the artist is on page 6 and does not specify if the Panorama card has to follow the same rules, although it makes sense to follow the precedent set on page 4.

Thanks for all of the comments!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.