13 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » General

Subject: Have anybody ever felt this? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lewis
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, let me start from the beginning. I Bought Eldritch Horror not long after it was released, maybe three years ago. I was so hyped and excited when I got it in my hands. So I started playing it. The first play experience was shrouded by missed rules or just too much back and forth between the game and reference book to be a great experience.

So I took another go after I get a better grasp at the rules... and, nothing. I felt like I was just chucking dice and doing tests. The story didn't make sense, the encounters felt too random. I thought to myself, I have got to be playing this game with the wrong mindset.

So I go at it again and again. I mean, I love the setting, I love ameritrash, why on earth I can't get my brain to click with this game. Losing seems frequent (which I definitely have no problem) and winning feels anti-climactic. After another ten to twelve try, I give up. Maybe this game wasn't for me. I went on with my life.

Fast forward to last week, I heard Arkham Horror LCG was announced. My first reaction was I'm gonna hate this like I hate Eldritch horror. But I kept my eyes on it, read the FFG news and watching team covenant's play overview. Interesting, but I think theme would be wasted on me because finding correlation of a theme in a board game doesn't seem to be my thing.

But for some reason, I put my copy of Eldritch horror on the table again and give it a go. Some rules still sticks and I only need to peek a little through the rules when in doubt.

I was so surprise that I'm having a blast playing Mark Harrigan against azathoth. The story the game told is chaining together nicely and the finale was a nail biter. Before the last mythos card I managed to solve the last mystery, but the reckoning forces a mythos card that force you to discard expedition cards cost me the game.