$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about "within" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eli Hall
United States
Kingsport
Tennessee
flag msg tools
The tournament faq says if a ship counts within that that ship isnt affected, but why does Donatra say all other friendly ships?

Which is the correct way

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Both are correct. Donatra would work the same way even if she didn't say "other." (She actually predates that rule, which was probably introduced to ensure that Clark Terrell works as intended.)

Still, it's not uncommon for cards to provide unnecessary information for the sake of clarity (for example, Picard's "You may use this action even if your ship does not have it in the Action Bar," or all the cards that say "even if that ship is cloaked or has active shields").
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BGDude wrote:
The tournament faq says if a ship counts within that that ship isnt affected, but why does Donatra say all other friendly ships?

Which is the correct way

Thank you


Another thing to look at is in more casual play, say a 2v2 game, Donatra's ability would also be able to affect ships in the allied players fleet as they are considered "Friendly Ships", where as most effects like that are limited to only ships within your own fleet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eli Hall
United States
Kingsport
Tennessee
flag msg tools
The reason this came up in play was because of Admiral Hayes and if he targeted his ship for the Admiral Effect would he get +1.

I guess not, lol. Thanks for the help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Redfearn
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BGDude wrote:
The reason this came up in play was because of Admiral Hayes and if he targeted his ship for the Admiral Effect would he get +1.

I guess not, lol. Thanks for the help


His is not a targeted ability, whichever ship uses his fleet action hands out the +1 and does not get it itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.