Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sheriff of Nottingham: Tabletop Trophy of Awesome» Forums » Rules

Subject: How does this card work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Dean
United States
Muncie
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a bit unclear on how this card works. The card reads:

Quote:
If inspected, after paying all penalties, the sheriff discards a card from their hand and takes this card into their hand.


Who is paying the penalties? The sheriff?Does the Sheriff pay the penalty of just this card? Or all the cards in the bag? Or just the penalty they'd have to pay given what was claimed?

If it's all the cards, this could be quite the bomb to drop on the Sheriff. Send it with four contraband and the Sheriff might end up paying out at minimum 21 (probably more) for one bag. Of course if they let five contraband through, the merchant stands to gain a lot more points. However, it kinda decreases the motivation to open a bag.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Fox
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The way i read it is that sheriff inspects the bag, set this asude, either the merchant or sheriff psys penalities ss nkrmal depending on the other cards, and then the sheriff does the swapping of cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jaap K
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a Sheriff inspects a bag containing this card, the merchant of course has to pay the penalty. There is no scenario where the sheriff has to pay during inspection if a merchant is smuggling contraband (what this is).

After the merchant has paid the penalty, the contraband would normally be discarded. This specific card however, will not be discarded but will be confiscated by the sheriff. This means the sheriff will now take the card in his hand and discard another card from his hand.

After this play continues as usual.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.