$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Machi Koro: Bright Lights, Big City» Forums » Rules

Subject: Infamous City Hall question... again rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kohn Jevinston
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
The rules are not clear whatsoever whether or not City Hall is a "constructed landmark". This is what the text on page 3 says:

Quote:
Special Note: The City Hall card is considered a pre-constructed landmark. It is used as a Starting Landmark (to be used along with the Starting Establishments-Wheat Field and Bakery). Add this card to the player's Landmark section face-up (constructed); its benefit is effective as soon as the game begins. The timing for getting 1 coin is "precisely before you build" so you can use that coin to build something the same turn but are not required to do so. The City Hall card may not be demolished.


So for example, the General Store says "If you have less than 2 constructed landmarks get 2 coins from the bank." Does City Hall count, or not? Because clearly in the original edition, City Hall was said NOT to count. However, the bracketed quote above seems to contradict this, combined with the insinuation it is a constructed landmark by qualifying that it cannot, however, be demolished. If it is a constructed landmark, it basically renders General Store fairly useless. The French Restaurant card says "2 or more constructed landmarks", so its correct use relies on this answer also. Personally, I'm leaning towards IDW's original reply that City Hall doesn't count, but it would be nice if they could be a little less ambiguous in the description, considering they went to the effort of writing a "special note".

Off topic, but another disaster in the rulebook is on the last page it talks about Moving Company, and how a good idea is to use it to discard your Loan Offices. We all know this from playing the original game. However, to answer the question asked by the rulebook:

Quote:
So, why not load your best friend up with your Loan Offices?


Because Loan Office is not even in this version! surprise
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Pieper
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
We played that the City Hall didn't count as a constructed landmark for the purposes of the French Restaurant. There was nothing in the rules to support this, we just thought it was best for balance.

We were also confused by the interaction of the General Store and Shopping Mall. I think the General Store should probably produce either 0 or 3 coins when accompanied by the Shopping Mall, although I could understand an argument for producing 1 or 3 coins.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Zhou
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
We decided that City Hall doesn't count as a constructed landmark because the rules pamphlet called it a "pre-constructed landmark". makes more sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.