Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Hero Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule clarification: Guards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lars Lamden
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was reading through the rules this evening, and noticed an ambiguity:
At one point in the rules, it implies that Guards only protect you if they are prepared. However, later on it states that you cannot attack a player or their non-guard champions if they have ANY guards in play.

Little help?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nikolaos Kamoudis
Greece
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Was about to ask the same.
Are expend guards dont protect you?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dwight Holman
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yeah, the first bit reads like a prepared guard protects you and your champions, and an expended guard protects just the champions:

Champions section
Quote:
Guards that are prepared
protect you and your other Champions. While you have a
prepared guard in play, you may not be attacked, and your
non-guard Champions may not be attacked or targeted by an
opponent until all of your guards are stunned.


Of course, this contradicts the later bit in Attacking
Quote:
To attack an opponent, subtract any amount of Combat from your
Combat Pool and lower your opponent’s Health by that amount.
Opponents cannot be attacked if they have a guard Champion in
play -- you’ll need to stun guards first before you can attack the
player they are protecting.


I'd probably play it like Star Realms until we get this sorted out: combat must be spent on guards before non-guard champions or players.
(With the expended/prepared bit a visual reminder that abilities have been used this turn.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is currently no way for a champion not to be prepared on an opponents turn. All of your champions prepare at the end of your turn. I imagine that this may come up as an issue in the future, but it currently does not matter.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nikolaos Kamoudis
Greece
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ThinkingThatsAll wrote:
There is currently no way for a champion not to be prepared on an opponents turn. All of your champions prepare at the end of your turn. I imagine that this may come up as an issue in the future, but it currently does not matter.


There are some cards that expend enemy champion on your turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
v b
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes it should instead read, "you cannot attack a player or their non-guard champions if they have ANY NON-EXPENDED guards in play"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dwight Holman
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Luckily, reading the print and play cards, there are no actions or champions which expend a champion instead of stunning it.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.