Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

D-Day at Peleliu» Forums » Rules

Subject: brush hexes and half strength rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
wesley sermeus
Belgium
flag msg tools
i am now on turn 3 and trying to get passed the first line of defense, damm diffuclt game. but i have a question.
i see on terrain chart for brushes that ranged attacks of infantry are at half strength of "intervening hexes". What do they mean exaclty with "intervening".

Do i need to use half strength when the target hex is a brush hex i want to shoot at?
Do i need to use half strength when my us units are in a brush hex they are shooting from?
Do i only need to use half strength if their is a brush hex between my US units and the target hex?

and finally? when i have to apply half strength, is that round down or round up?

thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronnie Tucker
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wezze wrote:
i am now on turn 3 and trying to get passed the first line of defense, damm diffuclt game. but i have a question.
i see on terrain chart for brushes that ranged attacks of infantry are at half strength of "intervening hexes". What do they mean exaclty with "intervening".

Do i need to use half strength when the target hex is a brush hex i want to shoot at?
Do i need to use half strength when my us units are in a brush hex they are shooting from?
Do i only need to use half strength if their is a brush hex between my US units and the target hex?

and finally? when i have to apply half strength, is that round down or round up?

thx


I would have to assume:
Quote:
if their is a brush hex between my US units and the target hex

as otherwise the rules would say 'adjacent'.

I think most games round down, but I'm not 100% sure. But I am sure someone else (aka: Martin Akerlund) will chime in with the correct answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule means exactly what it says. Intervening hexes mean hexes BETWEEN the infantry and the target hex (your last example).

If I recall correctly, there is no rounding. You use whatever number you come up with, half or full, and compare that to the requirements as normal.

CONFIRMED: Looking at the Tarawa forums, John B confirmed the answer that fractions are retained and not rounded. See entries near bottom of thread:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/20919396#20919396
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
wesley sermeus
Belgium
flag msg tools
Thx

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.