$35.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Various goblin questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric C
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This game looks great, I'm really looking forward to trying it out.

I have a couple questions about the Goblins. I'm confused about their actions - particularly by these paragraphs in the rulebook:

Quote:
Each Tribe can perform one action of your choice: Move, Attack, Plunder, Explore, Reveal, or Hide.

Any Tribe that began your turn revealed may also perform a Move action before performing an Attack, Plunder, or Explore action, but not before a Reveal action, Hide action, or special action.


This is my understanding of the actions available to the Goblin tribes - is it correct?

If Revealed
Can Move (any number of spaces) and then either Attack, Plunder, or Explore OR
Can stay still and then either Attack, Plunder, Explore, Hide or do a Special Action

If Hidden and on Player Mat
Can Reveal.
Can Ambush if the Knight encounters an Ambush location.

If Hidden and Lurking
Can Move (only one space) or Hide.
Can Ambush if the Knight encounters an Ambush location.

The rules also say that the Tribes can Plunder a Dragon gem from the dragon itself:

Quote:
A Tribe may plunder a Dragon Gem from the Dragon himself only if there are no Dragon Gems on the map, if he has a Gem on his player board, and if the Tribe’s Strength is greater than the Dragon’s Armor. When a Tribe plunders a Dragon Gem, roll the Dragon die. If the roll affects the center tile, the Tribe scatters. (It’s a trap!) If it does not, increase your Rage by 1. Then, return the Dragon Gem to the Dragon’s supply.


If the Dragon Gem is plundered from the Dragon, then it must immediately be "returned to the Dragon's supply". Does that mean that, functionally, plundering a gem directly from the Dragon will increase rage by 1 and have no effect on the Dragon (the gem is "taken" from the Dragon but immediately replaced)?

If the Tribe scatters because it hit a trap while trying to Plunder a gem, does rage still increase? The Goblin player board says that Plundering normally increase rage, but it's not clear if a failed Plunder results in a rage increase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
Daravon wrote:
This is my understanding of the actions available to the Goblin tribes - is it correct?

If Revealed
Can Move (any number of spaces) and then either Attack, Plunder, or Explore OR
Can stay still and then either Attack, Plunder, Explore, Hide or do a Special Action

If Hidden and on Player Mat
Can Reveal.
Can Ambush if the Knight encounters an Ambush location.

If Hidden and Lurking
Can Move (only one space) or Hide.
Can Ambush if the Knight encounters an Ambush location.
These are all correct.

Quote:
The rules also say that the Tribes can Plunder a Dragon gem from the dragon itself:

Quote:
A Tribe may plunder a Dragon Gem from the Dragon himself only if there are no Dragon Gems on the map, if he has a Gem on his player board, and if the Tribe’s Strength is greater than the Dragon’s Armor. When a Tribe plunders a Dragon Gem, roll the Dragon die. If the roll affects the center tile, the Tribe scatters. (It’s a trap!) If it does not, increase your Rage by 1. Then, return the Dragon Gem to the Dragon’s supply.


If the Dragon Gem is plundered from the Dragon, then it must immediately be "returned to the Dragon's supply". Does that mean that, functionally, plundering a gem directly from the Dragon will increase rage by 1 and have no effect on the Dragon (the gem is "taken" from the Dragon but immediately replaced)?
Correct. You don't actually need to take the physical token from the Dragon player, just roll the die to see if it's a trap or not.

Quote:
If the Tribe scatters because it hit a trap while trying to Plunder a gem, does rage still increase? The Goblin player board says that Plundering normally increase rage, but it's not clear if a failed Plunder results in a rage increase.
No, if you roll a trap the plunder attempt fails. You do not gain any Rage because it wasn't an attack from another player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.