Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Legends of the American Frontier» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of Skill card play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We're puzzled over the timing of playing cards:

Some specifics:
1 Knowledge card - New Invention: “Discard at the start of your Destiny Deal to have 2 cards drawn – keeping 1 and ignoring the other. This applies to the first Destiny card deal only.” - can this card be included in your American Ingenuity meld and then be discarded from the table for its effect? If so, can it leave your meld with only luck cards?

4 Frontier card – Wilderness Mishap: “Discard to prevent the active player from using their Skill Points on an Adventure.” – can this be played on a player reactively after their Destiny Deal?

1 Frontier card – Trail Blazer: “When played on a Frontier or Far West Adventure with no other player present, this card becomes an 8 Ribbon.” – can this card be included in an American Ingenuity meld and then convert to an 8 Ribbon?

3 Providence card – Divine Providence: “Discard to replace any Fate Wheel with a randomly drawn Fate Wheel.” – can this be played during your or another player’s adventure, say, after the Destiny Deal.”
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Launius
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


On the 1 Knowledge card, this refers to the destiny deal, so it gives you 2 cards as the deal and you choose which to keep as your destiny deal. Therefore neither are added to your American Ingenity - one will be your destiny card dealt.

On the 4 Frontier played as a mishap on a player, it must be played at the start of the adventure, prior to the destiny deal to that player. Play it when thy play their card and add their skill points to cancel out their skill points, then they get the destiny deal.

On the 1 Frontier card, when played as the lone player on an adventure, the card becomes an 8, so it is no longer a 1' and therefore cannot be part of an American Ingenity play. So play as a group of value 4 or less, or as a lone 8.

The 3 Providence card must be played at the star of the adventure resolution, prior to any player there doing their destiny deal. The Fate wheel applies to all players on the adventure, so it must be played prior to any player resolving their destiny deal. After any player has done their destiny deal, it is too late to play this card.

Thanks for playing and good luck.

Richard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks again for the quick response Richard.

I may not have worded the first example correctly, or it may be that my question is so obtuse that you don't expect it.

On the 1 Knowledge - New Invention - a player wants to do the following:
Make an American Ingenuity meld that includes 1 Knowledge New Invention and two luck cards of any denomination. He plays his three cards to the table which triggers his Destiny Deal. He then wants to discard his 1 Knowledge card from the table to trigger the New Invention effect. His argument is the card is still in play and granting 1 point toward the tally so he should be able to discard it (sacrifice it) to use the effect.

Is this a legal play? Or is it the case that cards may only ever be discarded directly from hand?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Launius
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

You cannot add it to an American Ingenity and then turn it into an 8. It is either a 1 or an 8 when you play it.

That is an interesting idea though - creative thinking, and if you ant to play it that way - do so as a house rule. I suspect it will way overpower this card, but make people venture off into the wilderness alone more - Jeremiah Jones style.

Richard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Richard Launius wrote:

You cannot add it to an American Ingenity and then turn it into an 8. It is either a 1 or an 8 when you play it.

That is an interesting idea though - creative thinking, and if you ant to play it that way - do so as a house rule. I suspect it will way overpower this card, but make people venture off into the wilderness alone more - Jeremiah Jones style.

Richard

I think you may be mixing up the cards. Your answer here is about the 1 Frontier card Trail Blazer but my question, and re-worded question was about the 1 Knowledge card New Invention.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.