Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

TransAmerica» Forums » General

Subject: Can I put my start marker to one of my goal city? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
dry 18
msg tools
Can I put my start marker to one of my goal city?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Stables
Australia
Lawson
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe so, I can't recall it being against the rules and I've found it advantageous to do so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but if you think about it, this isn't a very good idea.

To win this game, you need to maximise the amount of track you are using that other players have placed. 95% of the time, other people won't build through your city. Therefore, you will have to build extra connections that might not have been necessary otherwise.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dry 18
msg tools
Thank you for your reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fer moros
South Korea
Kwang-Ju
Gwangju
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yes, you can.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
Yes, you can place your marker anywhere.

I agree with Ben that you're probably better off not putting it on one of your cities, though putting your marker on a city that's not one of yours is a considerably worse idea.

Personally, I prefer to put my marker out in the open, to maintain flexibility and keep people guessing. Often, it'll be two tracks away from one or two of my cities, so I can join to them if it turns out I have nothing better to do.

(So far as I'm aware, you can even place your marker on the same spot as another player's, but that's never come up in practice.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomello Visello
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dry18 wrote:
Can I put my start marker to one of my goal city?

I'm wondering, is there anything in the rules that might make you think you can't? Here's a quote.

In the first turn, each player places his start marker on the track junction of his choice. This may be on a city. The start marker is the starting point for each player's track network.



Note the part that I have highlighted. It doesn't even need to be a city.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.