$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Need clarification on ally abilities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike K.
United States
Windsor
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules seem pretty simple - you can use an ally ability once each turn, at any time during the turn.

But I was playing the iOS digital version of the game where I had the central office base in play (ally ability - draw a card), and then a hand full of several other cards of the same faction. I swear it triggered the ally ability for each card of the same faction that I played. That is I was drawing a whole bunch of additional cards instead of just one.

Does the ally ability compound with the number of ally cards? So if I have 4 cards of the same faction, for example, I can use the ally ability with each of the cards, or 4x3x2x1=24 possible ally ability combinations?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
snapadonut wrote:
I swear it triggered the ally ability for each card of the same faction that I played. That is I was drawing a whole bunch of additional cards instead of just one.

If it did that's a bug. Each ally ability can only be triggered once per turn.

One way the digital implementations differ from the physical game is that ally abilities on ships trigger automatically when you play themm - e.g. if you played Trade Escort it will automatically trigger the "Draw a card" ally ability.

Are you sure the other Trade Federation card in you hand didn't have "draw a card" Trade Escort draws one (if allied), Flagship draw one, Command Ship two & Embassy Yacht two if you have two or more bases in play.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Lapsley
United States
Verona
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
snapadonut wrote:
The rules seem pretty simple - you can use an ally ability once each turn, at any time during the turn.


This is more true with the physical game than the app.

zabdiel wrote:

One way the digital implementations differ from the physical game is that ally abilities on ships trigger automatically when you play them


This is accurate and probably the biggest difference between the physical game and the app. (To the point of some high level strategies being handled very differently)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
I have not seen the app behave incorrectly yet. Sometimes I would like to trigger the abilities by hand, but most times you can figure out the right playing order to overcome the limitation.

Like said above, if you already have a card with the Draw Card ability and play a second one of the same faction that has the Draw Card ability, both trigger at the same time, giving you two cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.