Subject: Fan expansion: Race packs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Wilber
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
I'm a huge fan of Caverna and my girlfriend and I have been playing it pretty solidly for a couple of years now (playing in larger groups when we get the chance). From the beginning I really enjoyed the fantasy aspect of playing as dwarves rather than just human farmers, and after a while I got really excited by the idea of playing as other races - hobbits or goblins for example. Apart from the thematic interest, it offers the chance to try to work out the best strategies for each race, and adds a lot of replayability.

For just over a year I've been working on the race packs linked below. They contain a "card" with special rules for each race (maybe card is the wrong word, they should be A5 size when printed out). Player can pick one of the cards before they start a game. There's no reason more than one player can't pick the same race. Players may choose to play as "Hill Dwarves", which are the default race of the game, and add no special rules. In my group it's worked fine to have experienced players try one of the new races, while newer players stick to the Hill Dwarves.

I've divided the races into two "packs" just because there are quite a few of them and they could easily be overwhelming. Six races should easily be enough to keep you entertained for quite some time. But if you eventually decide you would like some more, there is pack 2! In general pack 2 contains the more complex races, although this isn't 100% the case.

The races are:

Pack 1:

Hill Dwarves - The default Caverna race, no special rules.
Hobbits - Hobbits are exceptional farmers, but also exceptionally hungry.