Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barry
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm still pretty new to Splendor, but I would think that the superior opening move would always be to grab 3 different chips vs 2 of the same color.

By grabbing 3 of whatever set of colors match the most options, you have the best chance of finishing a card in turn 2 or 3, regardless of what the other players snatch up. Building up your personal supply of chips before they can be blocked seems like a better start.

I'd love to read dissenting opinions and be proven wrong with an anecdotal replay of the first couple of turns.

Also reserving a card and grabbing a gold seems like a poor choice by comparison unless every tier 2 and 3 card requires X and the tier 1 that you just reserved is the only X available.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
mbmbmbmbmb
In general you only grab 2 of the same coin when you are going after a specific card and you need a bunch of that color.

Reserving a card on your first turn can be a very strong move if you are trying to win by getting big cards and a minimum of tier 1 cards.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Darcy
Australia
Blue Mountains
New South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have only played a few times. But in general I would say you are right. Early in the game quantity is more important. And taking two will probably telegraph your plans. So unless you are going to use them the very next turn for a very strategic card, three would be the best opening move.