Recommend
34 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Leaving Earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rulebook v4k rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Fatula
United States
San Jose?
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I posted a new version of the rulebook today. Two meaningful changes and a few clarifications.

For turn order, only count points from completed missions, not from dead astronauts. (p14, 16, 28)
This gets rid of the situation where players deliberately kill off astronauts just to get ahead in turn order. It has no other effect on the game. Astronauts still count as -2 points at the end of the game.

An ion thruster that fires successfully cannot be fired again in the same year. (p26, 29)
This is a simpler fix for the infinite-thruster-testing problem than what we tried before. It seems to work quite well, having very little effect on the game.

Clarified when exactly hazards take place. (p15, 24, 25)
A discussion here on BGG showed that I hadn't explained well enough when hazards take place. There are no rule changes here, just further explanation.

Specified that supplies collected on a planet are free. (p31)
If a planet has supplies present, you don't have to pay money to collect them. This isn't a rule change, but it wasn't explained clearly enough before.

That's it for now. As always, if there's anything that isn't clear from reading the rules, let me know and I'll try to make it clearer for the next printing.
43 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will H.
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Joe. Still loving the game a year later.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yani
Switzerland
Zürich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the support Joe, it is great that rulebooks evolve. I wish all designers did that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I like the changes - simple but effective
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
mb
buffalohat wrote:
Clarified when exactly hazards take place. (p15, 24, 25)

Great improvements (and really great to see the attention to detail)! But — I don't think this fixes it. I'd still like to see something clearer on p24, like:

Quote:
A spacecraft faces radiation hazards when its token moves, and other hazards in order, once its maneuver is completed.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Sims
United States
Bryant
Arkansas
flag msg tools
So much for Pathos...
mbmbmbmbmb
Pining for the fjords! Love it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Connors
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Suggestions/recommendations for printing this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Wagoner
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Joe - Thanks for the updated rules. I noticed that there is no indication
of the revision number or publishing date on the rules or in the file name.

This makes it difficult to be certain which version of the rules you are
reading.

A version number (or pub date) on the cover or page 1 would be a quick fix.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Manning
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
See page 57:
Quote:
This document is rulebook v4k.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
th3tick wrote:
Suggestions/recommendations for printing this?


I'm intending to just print the list of changes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stu Turner
United Kingdom
Romsey
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there a grouped list of changes somewhere so I can compare to whichever version of the rulebook is included in my copy when it arrives?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike W
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stuartt wrote:
Is there a grouped list of changes somewhere so I can compare to whichever version of the rulebook is included in my copy when it arrives?


I tried to do something like this.

https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/136560/leaving-earth-rule...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stu Turner
United Kingdom
Romsey
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Mike - I've downloaded it and will put a print out in the box
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
One rule I'm still not clear on (sorry if I missed it, must have read rulebook a dozen times):

Can probes land? If yes, can they land on both atmospheric places and rocket landing places? If not all of them are yes, do you need an unmanned capsule to land on Mars? If all of them are yes, am I correct in saying that it's easier to land a probe (no reentry) than an unmanned capsule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger BW
United Kingdom
High Wycombe
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Any component or collection of components can land.

You need to complete the manoeuvre to get from Fly-By or Orbit to the planet or moon. That will usually take a rocket, though aerobraking can do it in some cases.

Then you face the hazards in order. Re-Entry (the cloud)? Only capsules are effected by that. Landing? Test the Landing outcome for the spacecraft.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Firedrake wrote:
Any component or collection of components can land.

You need to complete the manoeuvre to get from Fly-By or Orbit to the planet or moon. That will usually take a rocket, though aerobraking can do it in some cases.

Then you face the hazards in order. Re-Entry (the cloud)? Only capsules are effected by that. Landing? Test the Landing outcome for the spacecraft.


Ok, so I played it correctly. A spacecraft with no capsule can land on Earth with no problem, and using only landing on Mars.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Fatula
United States
San Jose?
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Under Landing (page 25) there's a footnote as a reminder for exactly this sort of question:
Quote:
Any spacecraft may attempt any maneuver. It does not matter what components the spacecraft is made of.

That's a very important principle in this game: Any spacecraft may attempt any maneuver.

So to answer your specific questions:
TDaver wrote:
Can probes land?

Yes. Probes, along with any other spacecraft, may attempt any maneuver.
TDaver wrote:
Can they land on both atmospheric places and rocket landing places?

Yes. The reentry hazard only affects capsules; it does nothing to other components. The landing hazard affects every spacecraft, regardless of what the spacecraft is made of.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Andersson
Sweden
Rimbo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just bought the game and have rulebook v4i. Is there any other (major) updates that I need to be aware of or am I good to go?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.