Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: VC March Bot rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Wigdor
United States
Lake Hiawatha
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Quote:
(8.5.3, 4th bullet) Then, March into spaces that have at least 1 Population, first into those not yet at Active Opposition, then wherever it is possible to move in the most Underground VC Guerrillas that stay Underground—(and only with that number of Underground Guerrillas, 8.1.2)


I'm not sure how to parse the last parenthetical statement. What is meant by "only with that number of Underground Guerillas?" How can you send more than the most possible? Are you allowed to send less once it is determined that you can send more?

Thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You could send Active Guerrillas too, possibly making the Marching Group so large that the Underground Guerrillas included in it are Activated. The "only with that number of Underground Guerrillas" keeps the bot from doing that.

Regards,
Oerjan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Wigdor
United States
Lake Hiawatha
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Thanks Oerjan. Do you send Active Guerillas as well if they will not cause the Underground ones to be activated?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
No. As I wrote above, the "only with that number of Underground Guerrillas" keeps the bot from doing that.

Regards,
Oerjan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Taylor
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a different thread going already, but it doesn't hurt to ask here as well.

If the first nested priority for the Pop1+ spaces is to March to those spaces not already at Active Opposition, then by the time we get to this next criteria, the only spaces left would be those at Active Opposition. Therefore, no Underground Guerrilla would ever go Active in that March. Did I misunderstand the instruction? It sure looks Sequential to me, but is it perhaps intended to be Nested?

Thanks,

Colin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Answered in detail in the other thread; but short answer for future readers: no, you understood the instruction correctly. It is very much sequential, not nested.

Regards,
Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.