$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Legendary: A Marvel Deck Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: another newb question RE pritned abilities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
cade c
United States
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mb
a card says that you need two of a certain type (Strength for instance) to gain an effect.

the card that has the text on it is one of those types. So I just need one more, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Nowak

Ann Arbor
Michigan
msg tools
mbmbmb
I believe that when it says... Reveal 2 cards in your hand that are BLANK...then yes, that card would count.

But if the card you are playing has an ability triggered by 2 of a specific class, and that class is of the card you have just played, it would NOT count toward triggering its own ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cade c
United States
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mb
Jerome you just blew my mind with your second statement !!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cade c
United States
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mb
your second statement is geared toward what I am trying to ask. So let's say the card was like this :

Strength, Strength = draw 2 cards
or
Strength, Stregth = rescue a bystander
or
Strength, Stregth = gain +2 attack

if the card I am playing is a Strength, it does not count toward the 2 needed ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
mbmbmbmbmb
cad37 wrote:
your second statement is geared toward what I am trying to ask. So let's say the card was like this :

Strength, Strength = draw 2 cards
or
Strength, Stregth = rescue a bystander
or
Strength, Stregth = gain +2 attack

if the card I am playing is a Strength, it does not count toward the 2 needed ?


No it would not. If a card needs a class or team symbol to activate a power you have to play cards with those symbols before you play that card.

Example: For Ancient Legacy Iron Fist you need to play two cards with a strength class symbol before you play Ancient Legacy. The strength symbol on that card cannot be used to activate its power.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Drury
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
The only stupid question... is the one you don't ask!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
To activate a card's effect, you must have met the conditions PREVIOUSLY to having played that card.

Let's invent a card called Planet Hulk, it has 1 mb in the top-left corner. It's Ability reads: mb mb: Rescue a Bystander.


You have 4 of these cards in your hand and play them back-to-back;

Card 1: 0 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 2: 1 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 3: 2 mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander
Card 4: 2+ mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Nowak

Ann Arbor
Michigan
msg tools
mbmbmb
Correct. I do not believe that a Hero can help trigger ITS OWN ability. So, you would need 2 OTHER strength Heroes to trigger the ability on the individual card you speak of.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Nowak

Ann Arbor
Michigan
msg tools
mbmbmb
blipadouzi wrote:
To activated a card's effect, you must have played the conditions PREVIOUSLY to having played that card.

Let's invent a card called Planet Hulk, it has 1 mb in the top-left corner. It's Ability reads: mb mb: Rescue a Bystander.


You have 4 of these cards in your hand and play them back-to-back;

Card 1: 0 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 2: 1 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 3: 2 mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander
Card 4: 2+ mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander


You would only rescue the 2nd Bystander if the Planet Hulk card, whose ability is being triggered, is NOT one of the 4 cards listed...correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Drury
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
The only stupid question... is the one you don't ask!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
jnowak415 wrote:
blipadouzi wrote:
To activated a card's effect, you must have played the conditions PREVIOUSLY to having played that card.

Let's invent a card called Planet Hulk, it has 1 mb in the top-left corner. It's Ability reads: mb mb: Rescue a Bystander.


You have 4 of these cards in your hand and play them back-to-back;

Card 1: 0 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 2: 1 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 3: 2 mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander
Card 4: 2+ mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander


You would only rescue the 2nd Bystander if the Planet Hulk card, whose ability is being triggered, is NOT one of the 4 cards listed...correct?


It depends in what order you play the cards. Let's ignore the other 2 cards in the hand, let's say they are wounds or starting cards. Now let's replace one of the Planet Hulk cards with another Hero that has a mb, but a different Ability. (Let's call this new card Card X)


Play order:

Card X: 0 mb previously played, Different Ability
Card 1: 1 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 2: 2 mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander
Card 3: 2+ mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander


New order:

Card 1: 0 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 2: 1 mb previously played, nothing happens
Card 3: 2 mb previously played, Rescue a Bystander
Card X: Different Ability
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But I think the main thing that will help cade right now is to know that when you are trying to trigger a special effect on a card that you are playing, you never count its own class symbol toward that. That has to come from a previous card that you played that turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Patterson
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Quote:
..you never count its own class symbol toward that.


Sorry to make things more confusing but Spectrum actually breaks this rule. Thanks for keeping it clear game..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.