A Game of Thrones: The Card Game (Second Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Game of Thrones LCG or Board rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Lach
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Thinking about getting into one GoT game option. I know that it is probably difficult/wrong to try to compare the LCG vs the board game. I'm comfortable going the LCG route or the board game route on this. The board game clearly seems the much longer game and is probably better with more players while the LCG looks to be a shorter game option that can be with 2 - 4 or maybe more if more core sets are added. So, I understand those minimum types of differences (at least I think I do and have this much "right"). If those issues don't matter, which might provide the more complete GoT experience, theme, etc.. Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Lee
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
I'm not an expert at either version of the game, but I did notice a big difference between the two. The board game captured the military planning feel that you see in the real story as well as the building of alliances. This part is really cool to be doing that yourself with a map in front of you. I didn't enjoy the actual battles that much in the board game. That felt just like a game and not like a real Game of Thrones battle. On the flip side, the card game gave me the authentic feel of the battles.

I did not keep my board game (sort of regret that now that the books and TV show are so popular and I'm more into it these days). But I know that the board game was hard to play. I only enjoyed it with five, there was a lot to teach and the games were long. Too long for my taste. But the card game is short and sweet and that's really how I like my games when they pack this much punch. The board game's atmosphere felt bigger. How can it not when you actually have to negotiate with real people?