Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: naval support of land battles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(Advanced game) A Union general is attacking an unoccupied fort in Arkansas Post, and Farragut with 8 NSPs comes down from Cairo and up the Arkansas River to support him, using their free naval move.

1. This means that the NSPs, the Union infantry and the fort must all occupy the same hex. (In other words, the NSPs must enter a river hexside controlled by the fort). Is this OK?

2. In the naval battle, both sides score 1*. So the naval units retreat (to Memphis, as it happens), and (if I have this right) one NSP goes to the Union pool, while another one is damaged. The NSP in the pool can return the following turn, while the damaged NSP can be repaired at a shipyard in the appropriate phase. Does the damaged NSP have to sail to the shipyard with a dedicated AP or do we assume it 'magically' gets there in the end phase?

3. Since the NSPs did NOT win the naval battle, can the land SPs continue their fight against the fort, just forfeiting the +1 DRM because the NSPs lost their battle?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How can the defender get 1*? An unoccupied Fort is 2 NSP, the maximum roll of 6 gives a 1 result.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oops! Looks like I added the 2 to a die roll of 6 to get that result.

So in my example, the Union naval force actually won the battle, 1* to 1, and per 21.6.7 can remain in the hex and support the land battle.

But for the sake of argument, supposing it was a tied naval battle, 1 to 1, can you answer my original questions (and, separately, the question about damaged ships getting to a shipyard)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, if you tie or lose the Naval Battle then the attacking naval forces would retreat, and so you wouldn't get the +1 DRM in the land battle.

Note that you could try the free naval move and battle first, and see the result before you decide to spend an AP to conduct the land battle.

The damaged NSP needs to be in a shipyard at the end of the round to be repaired. It doesn't just warp there automatically. You could retreat from the battle to a shipyard (since naval movement is unlimited, note that often you could start in one port, move through a shipyard, and then to the battle location, so that if you need to retreat the shipyard is a possible retreat destination), or you could move it to a shipyard on a different action phase (using either the free naval move for that action phase, or an AP).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Much appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.