Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Chaosmos» Forums » Rules

Subject: bases rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Gielen
Netherlands
Meijel
Limburg
flag msg tools
Hi, We just finished our first game of chaosmos yesterday. We came into the following situation for which we could not find a solution.
Consider the following situation.
PLayer 2 attacks (opponent) Player 1 on a planet (both are on same space). Just before player 1 controlled that planet and announced to establishe a base on that planet (envelope is still in front of player 1).
Player 2 defeats player 1.

Questions we have:
1. Can player 2 attack opponent player 1 or does he need to attack the base (first) ? we assumed that you can attack the player (1), so he defended with his own coambat cards (not htose of the base)
2. And the most important unclarity for us; When player 2 wins the battle, does he take over the envelope from player 1, and return the envelope to the envelope box (choosing to deactivate the base) ?

Thanks in advance for your help and clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR Honeycutt
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Player 2 defeats Player 1.

- Player 2 may take the rewards from combat
- Player 1 is banished back to his homeworld (or wherever he gets banished to)
- The planet is now occupied by Player 2

So player 2 can take the envelope for an action, provided there's not some other reason why the player can't access the envelope.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joey V

Los Angeles
California
msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


When Player 1 loses combat, the envelope would normally be given to the winner of combat (after spoils are taken). But since the Base card prevents the envelope from being controlled by Player 2, the envelope goes to the box. Player 2 would have to spend a SECOND action attacking the Base. If a player ever loses control of a planet due to a combat, the envelope always goes to the box if the opponent doesn't want it (or if they are not allowed to control it, as in this case). The same thing would apply if Player 2 used Guerilla Drop Capsule - the envelope would be returned to the box once stolen from Player 1. Claw of Sykloakis would be ver effective in this case, since the Base is under control at the time Player 2 uses the Claw, so the Claw could steal a card from the Base.

Player 2 would never be forced to fight a Base, but he could choose to.

A literal reading of all the involved cards and the appropriate rulebook sections should clear this up - we spent a very long time checking all the combinations that could occur. Page 11 reads " If they would gain control of it [the Base] for any reason, return the planet envelope to the envelope box instead." Since there is no mention of deactivating the Base when its owner is beaten on it, the Base remains active and Player 2 ma choose to spend a second action to attack it, if they wish.

joey

McGiel wrote:
Hi, We just finished our first game of chaosmos yesterday. We came into the following situation for which we could not find a solution.
Consider the following situation.
PLayer 2 attacks (opponent) Player 1 on a planet (both are on same space). Just before player 1 controlled that planet and announced to establishe a base on that planet (envelope is still in front of player 1).
Player 2 defeats player 1.

Questions we have:
1. Can player 2 attack opponent player 1 or does he need to attack the base (first) ? we assumed that you can attack the player (1), so he defended with his own coambat cards (not htose of the base)
2. And the most important unclarity for us; When player 2 wins the battle, does he take over the envelope from player 1, and return the envelope to the envelope box (choosing to deactivate the base) ?

Thanks in advance for your help and clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.