Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Patton's Best» Forums » Rules

Subject: Commander spotting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
GB Paul
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Greetings fellow tankers.

Can a Commander (Hatch closed) directing fire, spot in a zone other than the one its directing fire into?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Fliss
United States
Sterling
Virginia
flag msg tools
Damn fine soldiers, Cottonbalers by God! -- US 7th Infantry Regiment
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, as long as the version of M4 he is in allows 360 degree spotting while buttoned up as per the Spotting Restrictions section of the tank card. For instance, the M4A3(76)W "Easy Eight" (Model No. 17) has a commander's cupola that allows 360 spotting, but the M4 (A-type turret, Model No. 1) does not and the commander's buttoned up spotting field is only one sector. Obviously if buttoned up, the commander's spotting attempts incur the appropriate modifier (+3 or +2 if from a cupola).

The commander's orders counter for directing fire bears the spotting symbol, so he may attempt to spot in any/all sectors that his tank's buttoned-up vision restrictions allow. The Battle Round Sequence places spotting before the crew action phase so you resolve all spotting attempts before continuing with the Orders Phase and then the Crew Actions Phase when his "Direct Fire" order is executed.

Even if he is limited to only one spotting sector, he may attempt to spot in a sector other than the one he is directing fire into.

6 
 Thumb up
0.26
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GB Paul
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.