$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » General

Subject: Cave event: Fresh air/water and light rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Randy Nguyen
United States
California
flag msg tools
Fresh air/water says to let the knight regain a health by spending one cube. What if the knight is at full health or she doesn't have any available cubes left to use? Does the knight get another card or is it just wasted and goes to the discard pile? Since the cave player can choose a card it seems like a strategy to just throw some cards away with similar effects.

Also for the light even card does it allow you to discard any hero cube including those used or on the grit track? If so what happens to the effects it was placed on, and if not does this card also just get wasted?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence
United States
Tustin
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Cave event: Fresh Air
This is definitely part of strategy. But let's say the dragon is becoming a little too close to making a break for it. It might be worth bolstering the knight to keep it in check.

The cave wants to stall everyone from their objectives. This is a balancing act.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Nguyen
United States
California
flag msg tools
mavericklancer wrote:
This is definitely part of strategy. But let's say the dragon is becoming a little too close to making a break for it. It might be worth bolstering the knight to keep it in check.

The cave wants to stall everyone from their objectives. This is a balancing act.


I thought so, but there was no section really explaining what happens if there are limitations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rollandtwo wrote:
Fresh air/water says to let the knight regain a health by spending one cube. What if the knight is at full health or she doesn't have any available cubes left to use? Does the knight get another card or is it just wasted and goes to the discard pile? Since the cave player can choose a card it seems like a strategy to just throw some cards away with similar effects.
Definitely the Cave can choose these Events at times that it doesn't help the Knight. The Cave is malevolent, after all.

Quote:
Also for the light even card does it allow you to discard any hero cube including those used or on the grit track? If so what happens to the effects it was placed on, and if not does this card also just get wasted?
For Fresh Air and Fresh Water, the Knight has to "spend" a cube, which is going to be like placing a cube for any other purpose (i.e., the cube has to be unused this turn). This is different from Light, where the cube is discarded. For Light, I think that the effect is like when you have to replace a cube from losing grit: you have to choose an unused cube first, then can pick a cube from the track).

Contrast with Cave Bread, where you can get a cube from the Grit track; that card is explicit about it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
neko flying
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rollandtwo wrote:

I thought so, but there was no section really explaining what happens if there are limitations.


Looking at the FAQ and the responses that Patrick and David are giving in the forums, it seems that the rulebook is intentionally written in a terse style.

It is assumed that players will take the rules literally. So e.g. in your case, if no provisions are made for a useless card, that's it: You don't draw replacement cards because the rules don't say that you do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
Rollandtwo wrote:
Fresh air/water says to let the knight regain a health by spending one cube. What if the knight is at full health or she doesn't have any available cubes left to use? Does the knight get another card or is it just wasted and goes to the discard pile? Since the cave player can choose a card it seems like a strategy to just throw some cards away with similar effects.
It's entirely up to the Cave if it wants to give the Knight a card she can't or won't use. When that happens, the Knight doesn't gain or lose anything and her turn continues on as normal.

Likewise, in a game without a Cave player, if you draw an Event that has no obvious effect, you just continue on. You don't get to draw another until the next time you encounter an event tile.

Quote:
Also for the light even card does it allow you to discard any hero cube including those used or on the grit track? If so what happens to the effects it was placed on, and if not does this card also just get wasted?
You can only discard cubes that are available to you. You can't grab one off the grit track that you haven't earned yet.

It's all part of the strategy - the effects that require you to permanently discard a cube are very powerful, but it's up to the Knight player to decide if that's worth it not.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Woelf wrote:
You can only discard cubes that are available to you. You can't grab one off the grit track that you haven't earned yet.
Just to be explicit: you cannot discard cubes that you have placed on a square (for, say Strength), then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
dthurston wrote:
Woelf wrote:
You can only discard cubes that are available to you. You can't grab one off the grit track that you haven't earned yet.
Just to be explicit: you cannot discard cubes that you have placed on a square (for, say Strength), then?
Correct. You must have a cube available or the effect cannot be used.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.