$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

XCOM: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resolving Orbital Defense rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Doug Poskitt
Wales
Cwmavon
West Glamorgan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Please excuse me if this question has already been asked (and answered) elsewhere, but trying to find the answer to this is like trying to find a needle in a haystack given the voluminous rules questions already generated for XCOM: TBG.

Specifically, my question concerns the process after the Central Officer has finished his Orbital Defense task. Suppose two least-panicked continent markers are on the leftmost space of the panic track. Two UFOs remain in orbit. The Central Officer moves one of these continent markers one space to the right. Given that two UFOs remain in orbit, does he then move the continent marker remaining in the leftmost space one space to the right?

I am seeking confirmation that the sentence "Reduce the panic caused by each UFO one at a time." does in fact mean what is described in the above paragraph.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have 2 continents tied for last place and there are 2 ufo's in orbit, both continents increase their panic by 1.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Gutierrez
United States
Burbank
California
flag msg tools
"A pilot's greatest virtue is to know when to run" -- "What's this, a joke?"
mbmbmbmbmb
Tapping the banner on that step will link you straight to the rules. If that is not where it clarifies that you panic "one step at a time", the FAQ does.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. If you have ten UFOs in orbit, then, rather than moving 1 continent all the way into panic and then going back to use what's left on another, you'll move several continents up by 2-3 each to keep them as level as possible at the back.

In general, UFOs in orbit are only ever going to send a continent into full panic if you're on the verge of losing anyway (though they can set up a situation where failing global defense can topple one or more continents)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.