New debate that could use a ruling.
During a declared spike action, can an athlete with the "ballbuster" ability add the extra four dice to their brawling? Athletes use "star brawler" and "star evader" during spike actions so potentially adding other abilities is certainly possible. The debate is stated in the rulebook on page 33 of the Exhibition & League Rulebook, in the skill listings.
"BALLBUSTER: If you are carrying the ball, you get an extra +4 dice for a brawling test (this is in addition to the standard +1 die for attacking with the ball)."
The word "carrying" obviously refers to chop/carve attempts...but a spike action involves throwing not carrying. On the other hand, you cannot throw unless you are carrying the ball. We can see both sides of the argument.
Hi, the bolded part seems to be different than the Valkyries team-card, which states "+4 instead of +1". which way are you playing? I am trying to run a small league here and want to get it sorted as quickly as possible before too many games pass with the Valks potentially having a disadvantage (we are playing the "instead of" way, thinking the rule book was more likely to be off due to being written earlier).