Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Love Letter: Batman» Forums » Rules

Subject: Robin token exception: Game-design decision or character decision? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kid Beyond
United States
California
flag msg tools
Hello all!

I'm whipping up a custom version of Love Letter Batman for an 8-year-old friend of mine who loves the game. The cards will feature members of his family.

My question:

The rules specify that Batman can name anyone (besides himself). He scores 1 point — unless the named character is Robin.

I'm trying to decide whether or not to keep this Robin rule in my version.

Do you think this was:

- A game-design decision — the rule makes the game stronger?

or

- Just a character decision — it's weird for Batman to "capture" his sidekick?


Thanks in advance...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Crenshaw
United States
Shepherdsville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe it was both. In the old version there was no thought, if you drew a 4 you played it. Now you can keep it for later in the round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kid Beyond
United States
California
flag msg tools
Gotcha. Thanks much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Parker McParker
United Kingdom
Bath
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play without this rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Crenshaw
United States
Shepherdsville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MLBath wrote:
We play without this rule.


You are missing out on a really good rule change.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Schaefer
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Given that the rule scores a point in addition to the points scored for winning the round and for knocking someone out, it makes sense that it should only work about half the time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Parker McParker
United Kingdom
Bath
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SeerMagic wrote:
MLBath wrote:
We play without this rule.


You are missing out on a really good rule change.


I think maybe your right. I'll try it next game.
Reading the above, have I got right: you can name Robin, it's just that, if you're right, the holder is out of the game but you DON'T get the bat signal token?

I'll check the rules next time, but this is what seems to be said in there OP.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maximus
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
correct

you can knock the player out of the round, but you don't score a token

its a brilliant rule IMO
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.