$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Napoleonic Wars (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Interception order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael West
Lithuania
Vilnius r.
-
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
A French army is moving towards an Austrian one. The Austrian player has another army in a duchy adjacent to where his first army is, i.e. Where the French player is moving towards.

I assume that the Austrian can intercept that movment. But, in terms of combat, does the intercepting army engage in battle with the French 1st and alone? or do the two Austrian armies combine, as the intercepting force arrives first at the scene?

Thanks for any help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Everett
United States
Moore
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All armies that want to intercept enemy movement into an adjacent duchy may resolve their attempts before a battle is fought. See rules, 10.1 Multiple intercepts.

-Donald
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Thomsen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
So armies cannot support each other by standing shoulder to shoulder and marching towards the sounds of the guns (via intercept)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Everett
United States
Moore
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Each friendly army may attempt to intercept an enemy Force that enters an adjacent space. This applies whether the adjacent space is vacant or friendly occupied.

-Donald
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Thomsen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
But may it be joined by the standing friendly force or must it fight alone before the battle between the invader and the standing force? You said: "may resolve" in the previous reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claudio Fotia
Italy
Roma
Roma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In our games, we always have added the intercepting Army value to standing defending Army. This is the "Blucher mode" devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Everett
United States
Moore
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No battle is fought until all intercept attempts are resolved. All defenders in a duchy fight together, regardless of whether they were already there or moved there via interception. Hope that explains it.

-Donald



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Thomsen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It sure does. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.