The die in our copy of the game has a side with 3 spots on it.
The section of the rules covering the rolling of the dice has explanations for rolling the door and rolling "1 or 2" but not 3.
We simply ignored it when we rolled 3 as we thought adding 3 Knights in one go might throw the ballance of the game.
Anyone else have a number 3 on their die?
Ha, this is weird - we have the exact opposite problem; our copy of the RULES mentions rolling a three, but our dice only has ONE or TWO spots on any given side!
They must have changed both the rules and the die faces at some point, but didn't change them concurrently?!
I wonder which way is the intended design? I agree with you, it's such a quick game, there's absolutely no need to ever put in three knights at once.