Frank Riskey
United States
Boise
Idaho
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ottoman is besieged, has 4 regulars in fortifications, sends in Mehmed with 7 units as a relief force. In the ensuing battle, the Ottoman fights will all units in the space including those in fortification, takes 7 hits. Per rules 15.2 third bullet:

"If the active player loses the battle and the number of hits he
scored was less than his opponent, only units that started the
impulse inside the fortification may retreat back inside. All other
attacking units retreat as per Section 14.1. If all attacking units
in the relief force were eliminated, any attacking army leaders
in the relief force are captured and there is no retreat."

Must the 7 hits scored against the Ottoman be taken against the 7 unit relief force?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlo Marinozzi
Italy
Livorno
flag msg tools
We played that the maximun cap to the units that can retreat into the fortifications is equal to the uits that started into it, in your example 4, so you have to choose to leave only 3 units in the fort or lose Mehmed.

As always, IMHO
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
friskey wrote:


Must the 7 hits scored against the Ottoman be taken against the 7 unit relief force?


No. The hits can be taken from either the besieged and/or relief forces in any combination.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Nestor
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Michael is correct as long as the besieged forces participated in the battle.

If the besieged force had been held out of the relief battle, then those units are immune and cannot be taken as battle casualties even voluntarily to prevent a leader capture.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Riskey
United States
Boise
Idaho
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for your responses.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.